Disable Preloader



The Graduate Record Examination (GRE) is a standardized test that is an admissions requirement for most graduate schools in the United States. Created and administered by the Educational Testing Service (ETS) in 1949, the exam aims to measure verbal reasoning, quantitative reasoning, analytical writing, and critical thinking skills that have been acquired over a long period of time and that are not entirely based on any specific field of study outside of the GRE itself. The GRE General Test is offered as a computer-based exam administered at pro metric testing centers. In the graduate school admissions process, the level of emphasis that is placed upon GRE scores varies widely between schools and between departments within schools. The importance of a GRE score can range from being a mere admission formality to an important selection factor.

The GRE was significantly overhauled in August 2011, resulting in an exam that is not adaptive on a question-by-question basis, but rather by section, so that the performance on the first verbal and math sections determine the difficulty of the second sections presented. Overall, the test retained the sections and many of the question types from its predecessor, but the scoring scale was changed to a 130 to 170 scale (from a 200 to 800 scale).


The GRE Test is available in two formats. Computer-based test and Paper-based test. You can choose the format you wish to sit for the time of Registration. The GRE Test pattern of both the formats is quite similar. GRE is available in the computer-based format in India. According to ETS, candidates can take the online GRE revised General Test once every 21 days, up to five times within any continuous rolling 12-month period. The test pattern of GRE in both the formats varies along with the syllabus.

In all cases, the Analytical Writing section is the first section of the exam, followed by a 10-minute break. After the break, there are 6 sections: two verbal, two math, an unscored section, and a research section. The research section is always the last section, while the other sections can appear in any order. Therefore, you won’t be able to tell which section is unscored, so you must be sure to do your best on all section. The GRE Exam is a 3 hour 45 minutes test and is computer delivered. While the GRE is also available in a paper-pencil format in some countries, only the computer-delivered version is administered in India. The GRE has 6 sections with one 10 minute break after the third section.

The Graduate Record Examination (GRE) is a standardized test that is required to be taken by students seeking admission to graduate schools. The exam has been developed to evaluate the verbal, analytical and mathematical skills of the candidates. GRE is a computer-based test and has a user-friendly design. Individuals applying to graduate schools in order to pursue a Master’s of Science (MS) or MBA are required to take the exam.
The sections are The sections are
You will receive three scores on the GRE:
Analytical Writing
Quantitative Reasoning

These scores are generated by the following sections:

1 Analytical Writing Assessment section
2 Verbal Reasoning sections
3 Quantitative Reasoning sections

In addition, you will see one of the following sections:

Unscored (may be either Verbal Reasoning or Quantitative Reasoning) Research (used for ETS research purposes).
The Quantitative Reasoning and Verbal Reasoning sections are each scored on a scale of 130 to 170. The mean score for Verbal Reasoning is 151, and the mean score for Quantitative Reasoning is 153. The Analytical Writing Assessment is scored from 0 to 6 in half-point increments, and the mean score is 4.0.

Analytical Writing:

This section deals with two separately timed essay writing tasks. It measures the analytical and critical reasoning skills as reflected in the writing styles of the test-taker. Both the tasks do not require pre- knowledge of any specific content, but they do require test takers to have a persuasive and critical style of writing devoid of major spelling and grammatical errors. The AWA score is reported on a scale of 0-6 in half- point increments.

The Verbal Reasoning section:

It consists of 20 questions per section. The Reading Comprehension, Sentence Equivalence, and Text Completion questions are targeted to measure the word power, critical reasoning, and comprehension skills of the test taker. Test takers need to work not on just vocabulary but they also need strategies to deal with these questions. The score on this section is reported on a scale of 130-170 in 1 point increments.

The Quantitative Reasoning section:

Consists of 20 questions per section. Basic mathematical skills and elementary concepts of algebra, arithmetic, and geometry are tested in this section. The Multiple-choice, Numeric Entry and Quantitative Comparison questions require quick thinking and sound application skills that require focused preparation. The score on this section is reported on a scale of 130-170 in 1 point increments.

Unscored section:

An experimental section that will either be a math or a verbal section may be included on the exam because you will have two of those sections during the test, but you won’t know which of two identical toward your score, and is used by ETS to try out new questions for possible use in future exams of the test. This section is identified and is optional.